Statue of Liberty: Facts & Figures

The Statue of Liberty, originally known as "Liberty Enlightening the World," was designed by French sculptor Frédéric Auguste Bartholdi and was dedicated on October 28, 1886.

It was a gift from the people of France to the United States to commemorate the Franco-American alliance during the American Revolution and to celebrate freedom and democracy.

The Statue of Liberty is located on Liberty Island in New York Harbor, in the Upper New York Bay, within the boundaries of the Statue of Liberty National Monument and Ellis Island.

It measures 151 feet 1 inch (46 meters) in height, including the pedestal, and weighs approximately 450,000 pounds (204 metric tons). 

The statue is made of copper sheets, designed in the neoclassical style, and stands on a pedestal made of granite. The statue holds a torch in one hand and a tablet with the date of American independence, July 4, 1776, in the other.

The Statue of Liberty is a symbol of freedom, democracy, and hope. The crown on the statue's head has seven rays representing the seven continents and seas of the world, while the broken chains at her feet symbolize the abolition of slavery.

The statue was constructed in France and then disassembled and transported to the United States in 350 individual pieces. It was reassembled on Liberty Island in New York Harbor, where it stands today.

The statue stands 151 feet 1 inch (46 meters) tall, with the pedestal measuring 89 feet (27 meters) in height. The total height of the statue and pedestal is 305 feet 1 inch (93 meters).