How to delete Twitter account: Step-by-step Guide

How to delete Twitter account: Step-by-step Guide

A
by Amelia Scott — 2 months ago in Business Ideas 4 min. read
1252

While Twitter is a great tool for businesses it can also be very distracting. Your business might be in a situation where it isn’t necessary to have a Twitter account. It’s better to start over.

Although it is not easy to delete your account on Twitter, it is possible. This guide will show you how to delete a Twitter account for a business.

Deactivating vs. Deleting Your Twitter Account

Before we can get into the details, let’s first decide if you want to deactivate or delete your Twitter account. There is a major difference between them. Your business Twitter account will be deleted permanently.

You cannot restore your followers or tweets. The deactivation of your business Twitter account does not affect users. However, you can log in to it and continue where you left off.

You should delete your Twitter account if your business has made major changes to its products or services, or if you no longer exist. You can then start over and build a new following by using the latest Twitter hacks and tricks.

If your business offers the same products and services, but there are internal changes or new branding, then deactivating may be the best option. This will allow you to keep your followers and tweets updated and can help you update your business’ Twitter account whenever it is ready.

Twitter will automatically deactivate a Twitter account that has been inactive for 30 days without any activity. If you wish to keep your account safe, log in regularly.
Also read: Best 11 Vocabulary Building Apps for Adults 2021?

How to delete your Twitter account on Android or iPhone

You can quickly and easily delete your Twitter account for business on Android or iPhone with the Twitter app.

Here’s how it works:

iPhone and Android:

  • Go to the navigation menu icon, then into ‘Settings and Privacy.’
  • Next, tap ‘Account’ and select ‘Deactivate your account.’
  • You’ll be asked to read some information on deactivating and then click deactivate
  • Enter your password to confirm your deactivation
  • Tap ‘yes’ when prompted as final confirmation for deactivation.
Also read: Top 10 IoT Mobile App Development Trends to Expect in 2021

How to delete your Twitter account on your desktop

It’s also possible to delete your Twitter account for business on desktop.

This is also possible. Here’s how it works:

  1. Click on the More> icon and go to Twitter. Select Privacy and Settings from the drop-down menu.
  2. Click on ‘Your Account’ to deactivate your account.
  3. Browse the account information and click ‘Deactivate’.
  4. Enter your password when prompted and click the “Deactivate Account” button

You must deactivate your Twitter account before you can delete it. Twitter will automatically delete an account after 30 days without any login activity. This applies to mobile and desktop.

How to delete the Twitter app and make sure your account is permanently deleted

Now that you’ve deactivated your account, how do you proceed? Next, you’ll need to delete the Twitter mobile application from your phone. If you own a Mac, you can also uninstall Twitter from your desktop.

After that, there is no need to do any other. After 30 days of inactivity, your Twitter account will be automatically deleted.

How to Reactivate your Twitter Account

There are several options available to you if you wish to activate your Twitter account. Your account will be restored if you log in within the specified timeframe. If you don’t log in within 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted.

Here’s how to activate your Twitter business account.

  1. Log in to Twitter using your desktop or redownload the app for your iPhone or Android.
  2. Enter your username and password
  3. After you have entered your credentials, you will see a message asking for confirmation to reactivate.
  4. After you confirm activation, you will be taken to your Home timeline.

Is Twitter really going to delete your account?

Yes, your Twitter account will be permanently deleted by the company. Your data will remain in the Twitter archive for 30 calendar days following deactivation if you wish to reactivate your account. Twitter deletes accounts automatically 30 days after they are deactivated. This cannot be reversed so your data is lost.

What happens if you delete your Twitter account?

You will be unable to access your account or your data after you have deleted it. Twitter retains ownership of account content that has been deleted. This includes account visibility as well as data in the archives.

Your profile might continue to appear in search engine results, even though Twitter can’t control which search engines index it.
Also read: Top 7 Industrial Robotics Companies in the world

Can you save data before you delete a Twitter account

Yes, data can be saved before a Twitter account’s deletion. Click the “More” button and then select the Settings and Privacy section. Next, go to “Your Account” and select the option to download an “archive of data”. Once you have selected this option, you will need your password again to confirm.

Next, click on the “Request Archive” button under “Twitter Data.” A download link will be sent to the email associated with the account.

How can you delete a Twitter account that you cannot access?

Even if you cannot access the account or log in, you can delete it.

You have several options to gain access to your account.

  1. The email address or mobile number associated with the account can be used to reset the password. You can deactivate the account by following the steps.
  2. If you are unable to access your account’s email address or mobile number, please contact Twitter support to provide verification details and request to delete the account.
Also read: How to Calculate Your Body Temperature with an iPhone Using Smart Thermometer

How can you delete your Twitter account permanently from Google?

Twitter accounts cannot be deactivated. As Twitter can’t control search engine results, the content will still be displayed. You will need to request the permanent deletion of your Twitter account from Google. To have your request considered, you will need to include specific Twitter URLs that appear in Google’s search results.

Amelia Scott

Amelia is a content manager of The Next Tech. She also includes the characteristics of her log in a fun way so readers will know what to expect from her work.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Copyright © 2018 – The Next Tech. All Rights Reserved.